What I Have Learned About Buddhism

There is a strong belief in my life that human beings live for happiness. With this belief, I have reflected myself in every perspective to find my own happiness. Even if happiness might be at the doorstep, I am always willing to have various experiences since it could possibly help to answer my very question: what is my own happiness? How and when do people know that they could make a living doing what they enjoy?

First, let me make it clear that I learn about Buddhism to find deep understanding of life and happiness, to dig and explore more about my curiosity, to open my mind.  I’m writing this to share my personal opinion and lessons that I’ve learned about Buddhism. I am only the tadpole who has not yet developed legs and who is still lacking the actual experience. So, anything that I wrote is only repetition or an interpretation of what I know because I’m still learning. What I am trying to communicate now is only a repetition of what I understand of the enlightened Buddha’s teachings.

I didn’t know much about Buddhism before, but now, I have a major appreciation for the religion. I’ve explored dozens of Buddhist temples and shrines during my life-changing trip in Japan last year and some trips in Indonesia. I’m currently reading a book of Ajahn Brahm, which is Opening the Door of Your Heart (or Si Cacing dan Kotoran Kesayangannya in Indonesian), articles on the internet, also I went to a vihara last December (yes, I have deep curiosity to experience more so I decided to give it a try!) and learn from some of my buddhist friends who teach me (thank you, guys! 😀 )

SONY DSC

Todai-ji Temple in Nara, Japan

20150625_160147

Kiyomizu Dera in Kyoto, Japan

20141230_065208

Borobudur Temple in Magelang, Indonesia

20150625_180305

Fushimi-Inari Taisha Shrine in Kyoto, Japan

20150625_100441

Nijo Castle in Kyoto, Japan

01_kinkakuji

Kinkaku-ji: The Golden Pavilion

The first good reason is Buddhism has answers to many of the problems in modern materialistic societies. It also includes a deep understanding of the human mind which gets me excited to learn. When I learn Buddhism, I am actually learning myself, learning about the nature of my own minds. The Buddha taught that the way to free the mind from suffering is through gaining insight into what truly is. Buddhism explains a purpose to life, it explains apparent injustice and inequality around the world, and it provides a code of practice or way of life that leads to true happiness.

I learn to seek wisdom, not knowledge. True wisdom means we learn and are affected by all of our experiences, and use that wisdom as an opportunity to do and be better in the future. I also learn that right hearts, lead to right thoughts, and this, in turn, leads to right action. It all begins with the orientation of our hearts, how we see, receive and respond to the world. Buddhism, however, teaches simplicity, humility and intentional care for all of creation.

I’ve immersed myself into the culture so I could learn about the religion.  I quickly figured out that Buddhism is all about peace, love and kindness. Simply put, Buddhists take all the negativity in their life and learn how to turn it around by developing a peaceful and positive mental state of mind.  Pretty cool, eh? Buddhism is an amazing religion and philosophy, and I have been learning more about it over time. I hope to continue understanding the faith more deeply.

buddha-quotes-on-happiness.jpg

One comment

Leave a Reply

